The Workforce Innovation and opportunity Act of 2014

President Barack Obama signed the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) into law on July 22, 2014. WIOA is designed to help job seekers access employment, education, training, and support services to succeed in the labor market and to match employers with the skilled workers they need to compete in the global economy. Congress passed the Act by a wide bipartisan majority; it is the first legislative reform in 15 years of the public workforce system.

WIOA supersedes the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 and amends the Adult Education and Family Literacy Act, the Wagner-Peyser Act, and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. In general, the Act takes effect on July 1, 2015, the first full program year after enactment, unless otherwise noted. The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) will issue further guidance on the timeframes for implementation of these changes and proposed regulations reflecting the changes in WIOA soon after enactment.


WIOA brings together, in strategic coordination, the core programs of Federal investment in skill development:

  • employment and training services for adults, dislocated workers, and youth and Wagner-Peyser employment services administered by the Department of Labor (DOL) through formula grants to states; and
  • adult education and literacy programs and Vocational Rehabilitation state grant programs that assist individuals with disabilities in obtaining employment administered by the Department of Education (DoED).

WIOA also authorizes programs for specific vulnerable populations, including the Job Corps, YouthBuild, Indian and Native Americans, and Migrant and Seasonal Farmworker programs as well as evaluation and multistate projects administered by DOL. In addition, WIOA authorizes other programs administered by DoED and the Department of Health and Human Services.

WIOA replaces the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 and retains and amends the Adult Education and Family Literacy Act, the Wagner-Peyser Act, and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

The Tennessee Career System is comprised of three types of facilities: Regional Comprehensive Career Centers, Affiliate Sites and local Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development (TDOL&WD) local offices.

The regional labor market in Southeast Tennessee has been designated Southeast Tennessee Local Workforce Development Area and includes the following counties:

  • Bledsoe County
  • Bradley County
  • Grundy County
  • Hamilton County
  • Marion County
  • McMinn County
  • Meigs County
  • Polk County
  • Rhea County
  • Sequatchie County

One Stop Operator & Career Services

In the Door and Educational Data Systems Incorporated will  deliver services across a vast geographical area, a comprehensive network of One Stop Career Centers has been developed.  In each American Job Center location, a number of different training, education and employment programs are unified to provide more customer friendly service to business and to job seekers.  Partner unification occurs through co-location or accommodation through established systems of referral.  

american job centers